The Henry Tanworth Wells Art Panel ‘The Quarrymen of Purbeck’ is now completed, it was sponsored by John & Sarah Wootton of Tom’s Field Campsite. The Painting is in the collection of the Guild Hall Art Gallery, they have kindly let us reproduce it, the self portrait is from the National Portrait gallery. Jeremy Paul has writen the biography, it has been a challenge to find the connection to Purbeck Quarrymen by this Victorian Society Portrail Painter! It was Treveleven Haysom who found the link. Apparently the daughter of Henry Tanworth Wells, Alice, married the son of the architect, George Edmund Street, who designed the church of St. James in Kingston. Treveleven also brought the whole picture to life by describing the characters and exactly what was happening so I have included this on the panel.
It is to be placed at the Burngate Stone Centre with the approval of the National Trust and The Keystone Project. We will organise a working party to build the plinth with the stone kindly donated by Keates Quarry.
Get the Map!Download the Swanage Seen Trail Map by right-clicking here (Acrobat PDF format). Also available in print from local Tourist Information Offices.
Swanage has a rich cultural heritage: the beauty of the unique coastline and town have drawn artists of international stature to paint here, including Walter Field, Charles Conder, Paul Nash, Mark Gertler, Augustus John and Graham Sutherland.
Swanage Seen celebrates this with an Art Trail - a display panel, showing the painting, a portrait of the artist and a short biography, placed on or near the site from where the original picture was painted.
Comments & Quotes“Paul Nash, the well-known landscape painter and war artist, was educated at St Paul’s School in London. The descendant of lawyers and naval officers he decided to become an artist and studied at Chelsea Polytechnic and the Slade School of Fine Art. In 1914 he married Margaret Odeh. The couple retained Margaret’s small flat near King’s Cross while basing themselves in Sussex and Kent. From October 1934 to early in 1936 they lived in Swanage, first at Whitecliff Farm and then at No 2, The Parade...”